08 September 2020

Dear Valued Clients,

Please be informed that the Government of Malaysia has imposed entry restrictions into Malaysia on foreign travellers who are travelling from countries that have recorded over 150,000 COVID-19 cases. The entry restrictions take effect from 7 September 2020, and the countries affected are as listed below:

Argentina Mexico
Bangladesh Pakistan
Brazil Peru
Chile Russia
Columbia Saudi Arabia
France South Africa
Germany Spain
India Philippines
Indonesia United Kingdom
Iran United States of America
Iraq Turkey

The entry restrictions will impact travellers who are:

  1. Citizens/ Holders of long-term passes of the countries listed above; and
  2. Residents in/ Travellers from the countries listed above.

The entry restrictions cover travellers holding the following long-term passes from Malaysia:

1. Permanent Residents (PR);
2. Malaysia My Second Home Programme (MM2H);
3. All expatriates that hold the Employment Pass Category I, II and III; Residence Pass-Talent (RP-T); Professional Visit Pass (PVP) and their Dependants
4. Foreign Students

The decision to implement the entry restrictions was made in view of the recent increase of imported COVID-19 cases from travellers entering Malaysia from the countries listed above. The measures are temporary, and will be reviewed on a regular basis.

Please observe the latest updates on our website from time to time. Your kind understanding is highly appreciated.

Thank you.

MYXpats Centre


What are the type of services offered at the ESD?

The ESD offers registration services for companies who wish to employ eligible expatriates. In addition, ESD also facilitates expatriate related passes for Embassy and any temporary manual applications. All companies will need to register with the ESD as a first step.

read more +